Property sales rise for first time in 17 months

After 17 months of decline, the number of property sales in Spain experienced a year on year increase in August. Official statistics report 27,708 transactions, 3% more than in August 2011.

Sales in August constitute the first figures since the government announced changes to tax benefits for home purchases that will begin in January 2013. The removal of tax relief appears to have encouraged some buyers to take advantage of the current legislation.

Specifically, Mariano Rajoy’s government announced in July that, as of 2013, those who buy a home will be unable to deduct income tax benefit. Also ending are favourable tax rates for new house purchases, which will increase from 4% to 10%.

For resales, the transfer tax (ITP) with a tax of around 8% is also rising in several regions to 10% in 2013.

The data released by the INE reveals large regional differences for example in Castilla-La Mancha, La Rioja and the Balearic Islands, home purchases have increased by nearly 30%, while in Navarra and the Basque Country there were similar variations but entirely opposite, dropping by up to 30%.

Article source: Kyero.com

6 thoughts on “Property sales rise for first time in 17 months

  1. Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same
    topics? Appreciate it!

  2. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and outstanding style and design.

  3. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my
    users would really benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks a lot!

Comments are closed.